Rough Trade



        'Warpaint' - Warpaint

        Warpaint’s second self-titled album is available to preorder now on CD, double vinyl (red if you’re quick!) from our Rough Trade Webstore

        Buy direct from our Store




        Today is officially ‘Houndmouth Day’ in Louisville, as decreed by Mayor Greg Fischer himself. The US four-piece play the Iroquois Amphitheater tonight to open the venue’s 2013 season.

        Help celebrate the day by watching Houndmouth’s official music video for their stomping single ‘On The Road’. The track is taken from the US four-piece’s debut album ‘From The Hills Below The City’, out 3rd June on Rough Trade.

        Houndmouth Houndmouth Release Video For 'On The Road'


        Read More On Twitter...


        The Decemberists Announce New Album By Busking In Brooklyn 27 October 2014 in The Decemberists

        Over the weekend Colin Meloy from The Decemberists announced the band’s new album ‘What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World’ by busking in front of a giant mural of the album artwork in Brooklyn, NY. Check out his performance of new track ‘Make You Better’ above and watch this space for further announcement details…!

        Parkay Quarts Announce 'Content Nausea' + Stream New Track 'Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth' 16 October 2014 in parquetcourts

        Parkay Quarts (Andrew and Austin from Parquet Courts) will release ‘Content Nausea’ – an “in-between albums album” – digitally on 10th November and physically on the 8th December. Pre-order the release here

        Stream the final track ‘Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth’ here:

        With one Parquet Courts member completing a degree in mathematics, and another starting a family, ‘Content Nausea’ features mostly the work of Andrew Savage and Austin Brown, with the help of a few friends (Jackie-O Motherf*cker’s Jef Brown on Saxaphone and Eaters’ Bob Jones on fiddle). ‘Content Nausea’ was recorded, mixed and mastered in two weeks on a 4-track tape machine. The band wanted something that listeners could “live with over the winter.” At 35 minutes, the record lies somewhere between an EP and an LP, but who’s counting?

        1. Everyday It Starts
        2. Content Nausea
        3. Urban Ease
        4. Slide Machine
        5. Kevlar Walls
        6. Pretty Machines
        7. Psycho Structures
        8. The Map
        9. These Boots
        10. Insufferable
        11. No Concept
        12. Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth

        Watch Benjamin Booker On Jools Holland 8 October 2014 in benjaminbooker

        In case you missed it last night check out Benjamin Booker performing ‘Violent Shiver’ from his debut, self-titled album (out now) on Jools Holland! Tune into Friday’s extended show to see him play a second song and maybe a tinker on the piano with Jools…

        Antony & The Johnsons And Charles Atlas To Release DVD And CD OF 'TURNING' Documentary 6 October 2014 in Antony and the Johnsons

        “I would describe TURNING as some of the most significant work of my career. Charles Atlas and I spent seven years producing the film and another year and a half showing the film at select festivals. In the last three years especially, the recognition of transgendered people and the resurgence of feminist consciousness has exploded in popular culture around the world. We planted some seeds for this zeitgeist in 2006, when I travelled with thirteen courageous women across Europe and presented the concert TURNING, exploring the intersection between images of contemporary trans-femininity and visions of pioneering future feminist artists such as Kembra Pfahler and Johanna Constantine. We shared this circle of modern femininity with the world, bringing it from the late night stages of NYC to some of the most highly regarded theaters in Europe.” – Antony 2014

        On 10th November Antony And The Johnsons and critically acclaimed director Charles Atlas will release a DVD and CD of their ‘TURNING’ documentary and concert. The documentary was captured during the pair’s critically acclaimed 2006 tour of Europe. Through its synthesis of Antony’s songs and Atlas’ unfurling video portraiture of the 13 women who performed...

        Benjamin Booker 'Have You Seen My Son?' Live At The 100 Club 6 October 2014 in benjaminbooker

        Check out this live video by Barber & Beale of Benjamin Booker tearing through ‘Have You Seen My Son?’ at his recent raucous 100 Club show in London. You can also catch Benjamin performing on Jools Holland on Tuesday and Friday this week!

        Dean Blunt Announces New Album 'Black Metal' + Posts Track '50 Cent' 9 September 2014 in news

        “When you go to the club and every record they’re playing is yours, you try to go left, and I made that mistake…there’s always time fi reason…” – Dean Blunt in conversation with Ninjaman, JA, 2014

        We are very excited to announce that Dean Blunt will release his second studio album ‘Black Metal’ on Rough Trade Records on 3rd/4th November. Vinyl format will be a 2xLP heavy pressing. You can pre-order the album now from Rough Trade or iTunes where you will instantly receive three tracks.

        Listen to ’50 Cent’ from the album here:

        ‘Black Metal’ Tracklisting:
        1. LUSH
        2. 50 CENT
        3. BLOW
        4. 100
        5. HEAVY
        6. MOLLY & AQUAFINA
        7. FOREVER
        8. X
        9. PUNK
        10. COUNTRY
        11. HUSH
        12. MERSH
        13. GRADE

        Upcoming UK/EU Tour Dates:

        9/28 – Bristol, UK @ Off The Page Festival ‘Black Metal A Reading’

        10/3 – Barreiro, PT @ Out.Fest

        10/4 – Madrid, ES @ Villamanuela Festival

        10/18 – Wroclaw, PL @ Avant Art Festival

        11/13 – London, UK @ Electrowerkz

        11/21 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival

        11/22 – Bern, CH @ Saint Ghetto Festival

        11/23 – Kortrijk, BE @...

        SOAK Reveals New Single ‘B a noBody’ And UK Headline Tour 9 September 2014 in news

        We are pleased to welcome 18-year-old Derry-based Bridie Monds-Watson, aka SOAK, to the Rough Trade fold. Check out her first single for us (the follow-up to ‘Blud’, the first release on CHVRCHES’ singles imprint) here:

        ‘B a noBody’ will be released on 3rd November.

        Catch SOAK live at the following upcoming shows:

        November 5 London St. Giles In The Fields
        November 6 Manchester The Castle
        November 7 Derry Christ Church
        November 8 Dublin The Unitarian Church

        Benjamin Booker Album Out Today 18 August 2014 in benjaminbooker

        Happy album release day Benjamin Booker! You can pick up a copy of his self-titled debut from your friendly local record store or online from Rough Trade or iTunes.

        The press seems to be as taken with the album as we are:

        DIY Magazine – 4/5 – “Starts off where Alabama Shakes’ southern-blues extravaganza finished”

        The Guardian – 4/5 – “Dan Auerbach and co, considered yourselves warned”

        Record Collector – 4/5 – “Stunning… An absolute joy of a debut”

        The Independent – 4/5 – “A wild, wonderful expression of youthful angst and energy”

        NME – 8/10 – “Takes the blueprint honed by his rock’n‘roll forebears and transports them bang into 2014”

        Check out Benjamin’s electrifying performance of album track Have You Seen My Son? here:

        More News