Rough Trade



        'Warpaint' - Warpaint

        Warpaint’s second self-titled album is available to preorder now on CD, double vinyl (red if you’re quick!) from our Rough Trade Webstore

        Buy direct from our Store




        Today is officially ‘Houndmouth Day’ in Louisville, as decreed by Mayor Greg Fischer himself. The US four-piece play the Iroquois Amphitheater tonight to open the venue’s 2013 season.

        Help celebrate the day by watching Houndmouth’s official music video for their stomping single ‘On The Road’. The track is taken from the US four-piece’s debut album ‘From The Hills Below The City’, out 3rd June on Rough Trade.

        Houndmouth Houndmouth Release Video For 'On The Road'


        Read More On Twitter...


        Rough Trade To Re-issue Life Without Buildings Album ‘Any Other City’ For Record Store Day 2014 19/03/14 in news

        Release Date – April 19th 2014
        Format – Vinyl LP + 7” vinyl ‘The Leanover’ c/w ‘New Town’
        Cat.No. – TUGLP023X

        Rough Trade Records (What’s Your Rupture? in the US) kick off a series of reissues in the coming months with a re-issue of the hugely influential album ‘Any Other City’ by Life Without Buildings, the only album recorded in their brief existence. Originally released on Tugboat Records (a Rough Trade affiliated label) in February 2001, ‘Any Other City’ has slowly become a widely admired cult album. Life Without Buildings formed in Glasgow in 1999, they existed for 3 years and then split in 2002, having released just one album and 3 double A –side singles, yet they’ve continued to build a strong underground following in the years since, which has culminated in copies of the original album on vinyl changes hands for exorbitant figures and numerous musicians citing it as a major influence and inspiration.

        Frontwoman Sue Tomkins’ unique vocal delivery which is somewhere between talking and singing, a kind of narrative, combined with the often spiky, course backing that the rest of the band provide, tends to prove magnetic after a few listens. Life Without Buildings managed to be utterly unique in the sound they made and ultimately that’s what has made this album’s reputation grow over time to be deemed absorbing, timeless and utterly essential listening.

        ‘Any Other City’ Tracklisting:
        1. PS Exclusive
        2. Let’s Get Out
        3. Juno
        4. The Leanover
        5. Young Offenders
        6. Philip
        7. Envoys
        8. 14 Days
        9. New Town
        10. Sorrow

        Life Without Buildings were: Sue Tomkins (vocals), Robert Johnston(guitar), Chris Evans (bass) and Will Bradley(drums).