18 October 2016

Emiliana Torrini & The Colorist Announce Collaborative Album And Share First Track "Speed Of Dark"

Rough Trade Records is excited to announce that we will release a collaborative, self-titled album by Emiliana Torrini & The Colorist Orcherstra on 9th December 2016. This is a live album containing nine Emiliana Torrini songs from her catalogue along with two brand new songs. Listen to "Speed Of Dark" from the album above. Pre-order the album 'The Colorist & Emiliana Torrini' here

The Colorist Orchestra is a Belgian ensemble founded by Aarich Jespers and Kobe Proesmans in 2013. They re-envision the repertoires of established musicians from across genres using traditional classical instruments and arrangements, along with a variety of their own musical inventions to contribute innovative, never-before-heard sounds and grooves to their compositions and re-compositions.

Although The Colorist Orchestra had initially planned to “re-color” only seven of Torrini’s songs, she was so enthralled by what she’d heard that she convinced them to work with her on fifteen of her previously-released tracks. Jespers and Proesmans pulled together a new eight-piece ensemble to create live re-envisionings of the works.

Two brand-new Emiliana Torrini songs debut on this album: “Nightfall,” written by Kid Koala and Torrini; and “When We Dance,” written by Jespers, Proesmans, and Torrini. The latter reflects the musical chemistry the three musicians developed during the process of rehearsal and performance for the Colorist concerts.

Upcoming Emiliana Torrini & The Colorist live dates:
4th November - Den Haag ‘Crossing Border Festival’ - Netherlands
4th December - Nordic Festival – Turkey
19th December - Bourla - Antwerp
20th December - Paaradiso Nord – Amsterdam



Subscribe to Mailing List