Rough Trade

parquetcourts

news

Parquet Courts Release 'Sunbathing Animal' Video 16/04/14 in parquetcourts

Parquet Courts are gearing up for the release of their highly anticipated follow-up to ‘Light Up Gold’ (2012), ‘Sunbathing Animal’, out 2nd June on Rough Trade Records (3rd June on What’s Your Rupture?/Mom+Pop in the US). Today the band premiere a new video on Noisey by Andy Capper for the title track and first single off ‘Sunbathing Animal’:

The video stars Frida, singer/guitarist Andrew Savage’s cat. In an interview with Capper Andrew discusses the video and the “studio magic”:

“Every afternoon [Frida] takes a nap in that spot, but that afternoon she knew she was being observed. So I created a special tea that I found on a cat lady website that was full of herbs that could allegedly make a cat sleepy. You got some valerian root, some poppy seed extract, skullflower caps, chamomile…. I gave that to her and she was kinda being a bit more chill but she was still moving around a bit too much. And I guess we basically made the sofa area of my apartment into a cat paradise in order to get her to perform. We had bird songs playing on the iPhone, the window was open for bird noises outside. We put some food on the couch and then finally some cat nip.”

Pre-order ‘Sunbathing Animal’ LP & CD here and get an instant grat of the title track HERE

Pre-order ‘Sunbathing Animal’ on iTunes and get an instant grat of the title track HERE

In other big Parquet Courts news, the band will be performing on Late Night with Seth Meyers (previously the David Letterman show) on April 30th. Not only that, but they’ll be premiering a new song off the record!

PARQUET COURTS TOUR DATES:
Thu. May 22 – Calgary, AB Commonwealth Bar Fri. May 23 - Portland, OR Doug Fir w/ Naomi Punk
Sat. May 24 – Vancouver, BC Biltmore Cabaret w/ Naomi Punk Sun. May 25 - George, WA Sasquatch Music Festival
Tue. May 27 – San Francisco, CA Independent w/ CCR Headcleaner Wed. May 28 - Los Angeles, CA Roxy
Thu. May 29 – Austin, TX Red 7 w/ Radioactivity Mon. June 2 - Houston, TX Fitzgerald’s w/ Radioactivity
Tue. June 3 – Dallas, TX Club Dada w/ Swearin' Wed. June 4 - Memphis, TN The Hi-Tone w/ Protomartyr, True Sons of Thunder
Fri. June 6 – Columbus, OH Double Happiness w/ Protomartyr Sat. June 7 - Detroit, MI PJ’s Lager House w/ Protomartyr, Tyvek
Sun. June 8 – Toronto, ON Horseshoe Tavern w/ Protomartyr, Tyvek Mon. June 9 - Montreal, QC Il Motore w/ Protomartyr, Tyvek
Tue. June 10 – Boston, MA TT the Bears w/ Protomartyr Wed. June 11 - Brooklyn, NY Sugarhill Supper Club w/ Protomartyr, Future Punx, Xerox
Fri. June 21 – Glasgow, UK SWG3 Sat. June 22 - Liverpool, UK Kazimier
Sun. June 23 – Birmingham, UK Birmingham Institute Tue. June 25 - London, UK ULU
Wed. June 26 – Oxford, UK Oxford Academy 2 Sun. June 29 - Marmande, FR Garorock
Sun. July 6 – Rotselaar, BE Rock Werchter Mon. July 7 - Groningen, NE Vera Project
Tue. July 8 – Paris, FR Le Divan Du Monde Wed. July 9 - La Rochelle, FR La Sirene Club
Thu. July 10 – Bilbao, SP Bilbao BBK Fri. July 11 - Lisbon, PO Alive Festival
Sat. July 12 – Russelheim, DE Phono Pop Wed. July 16 - Berlin, DE Cassiopaia
Thu. July 17 – Grafenhainichen, DE Melt Fri. July 18 - Dublin, IE Longitude Festival
Sun. July 20 – Suffolk, UK Latitude Festival Fri. July 25 - Niigata, JP Naeba Ski Resort (Fuji Rock Festival)
Sat. Aug. 2 – Chicago, IL Lollapalooza Sun. Aug. 3 - Happy Valley, OR Pickathon

Parquet Courts Online:
http://sunbathinganimal.com/
http://parquetcourts.wordpress.com/
http://pitchperfectpr.com/a_pc.html

Comment